Vietnamese Cuisine:Bún Riêu(Crab Noodle Soup)

I know it’s been a while since I wrote a post on Vietnamese cuisine but this is honestly one of my favorite food so I wanted to introduce it to everybody.

20160926_175007.jpg

The bún riêu above is made by my mom. I honestly cannot tell you how my mom makes the soup so good but the visible ingredients are tofu, tomato, and a steamed flavored mixture of shrimp and egg. I honestly asked her for the recipe to put on here but my mom always tell me, “some salt, some sugar” or “just flavor it until you like it.” I mean that is good advice mom but how much?

I can’t tell you how to make it but I will  show you how I prefer to eat it because we all know I’m only good at eating. I start off with a bowl of vegetables that I cut into small pieces. Side story, my mom told me to go buy some kinh giới and honest to Buddha I did not know what that was so she told me to just go to the market and read the signs. Of course at the market all the vegetables were called one thing, “rau thơm” aka fragrance vegetables. Thank god for google image. The vegetables below are shredded water spinach stems, sprouts, Elsholtzia ciliata(aka kinh giới), and I think the purple leaves are perilla leaves. I added some lime, fish sauce, and saté hot pepper to flavor the vegetables. This bowl of vegetables has the ability to attract passerby into eating with me. I’m pretty sure I converted a few of my family members into eating their vegetables this way. Although this way of eating vegetables might be common in Vietnam but not a lot of people around me knows about it.

I know a lot people add in shrimp paste to the soup for a deeper flavor but I prefer it without. I take some vegetables and eat it with every bite of vermicelli noodle. Bún riêu is lighter than pho because the broth is not made from beef bone. I don’t feel heavy after eating it at all because you eat it with a lot of vegetables. Honestly, I love Vietnamese food because we are able to mix so many ingredients and create harmony while still maintaining the distinct flavor of each element. Salty, spicy, sour, and seafood all mixed into one perfect bowl of flavor. It’s delicious and refreshing with every bite. I’m drooling just looking at the photos right now, I want some more bún riêu.

20160926_175214.jpg

Leave a Reply

